HOW IT ALL STARTED

HEY EVERYONE!

FIRST OFF I WANT TO THANK ALL OF YOU FOR INSPIRING ME TO START THIS BLOG! I NEVER EXPECTED TO RECEIVE SO MUCH FEEDBACK FROM ALL OF YOU. I HAD SEVERAL OF YOU TELL ME THAT I HAD INSPIRED YOU TO START AN EXERCISE PROGRAM AND START ON YOUR PATH TO FITNESS. MANY OF YOU HAD QUESTIONS ABOUT MY REGIMEN. I AM HOPING THIS BLOG WILL HELP TO ANSWER THESE QUESTIONS AS WELL AS HELP KEEP YOU MOTIVATED!

JUST A QUICK BACKGROUND ABOUT ME AND MY BODY IMAGE. I’VE NEVER BEEN ATHLETIC IN THE LEAST BIT. TOTAL DRAMA/KNOWLEDGE BOWL NERD IN HIGH SCHOOL AND WAS NEVER REALLY INTERESTED IN SPORTS. IN COLLEGE I DID REALLY ENJOY GOING TO THE REC CENTER AND WORKING OUT BUT NEVER REALLY TOOK IT SERIOUSLY. A LITTLE OVER A YEAR AGO I HIT THE HIGHEST MY WEIGHT HAS EVER BEEN. I DIDN’T LIKE THE WAY I LOOKED AT ALL. I KNOW SOME OF YOU WILL BE THINKING “ARE YOU KIDDING SAM? YOU’RE TINY!” I UNDERSTAND THAT BUT I FELT LIKE I COULD LOOK AND MOST IMPORTANTLY FEEL BETTER ABOUT MY BODY AND MY FITNESS. I WENT AHEAD AND GOT A GYM MEMBERSHIP AT A LOCAL GYM AND IT TURNED OUT TO BE A BIG WASTE OF $50.00 A MONTH BECAUSE I HARDLY EVER WENT. I STARTED TRYING TO DIET BY CUTTING CALORIES (LETTING MYSELF GET WAY TO HUNGRY I NOW REALIZE) AND CUTTING CARBS. MY WEIGHT STAYED THE SAME AND MY CONFIDENCE WAS AT AN ALL TIME LOW. I FELT LIKE CRAP FROM ALL THE FAKE SUGARS I WAS EATING, LETHARGIC FROM ALL THE PROCESSED FOOD AND HONESTLY QUITE DEPRESSED.

IN JANUARY TO 2012 I WENT TO FLIGHT ATTENDANT TRAINING FOR 5 WEEKS. DURING THIS TIME I HAD MORE CONTROL OVER WHAT I WAS EATING BECAUSE I HAD TO PACK A LUNCH EVERY DAY AND REALLY DIDN’T HAVE ANY MONEY TO EAT OUT. I LOST A FEW POUNDS AND STARTED FEELING BETTER ABOUT MY BODY IMAGE AND WAS GAINING SOME OF MY CONFIDENCE BACK.

AFTER TRAINING WAS COMPLETE AND I WAS SETTLING INTO MY NEW LIFE IN ARIZONA I WAS FEELING GREAT ABOUT MYSELF BUT I WANTED MORE. I WANTED TO BE FIT AND STRONG. I WAS TIRED OF STRIVING TO BE “SKINNY.” I STARTED DOING SOME RESEARCH AND FOUND JAMIE EASON’S 12 WEEK TRAINER PROGRAM. I WAS IMMEDIATELY SEEING RESULTS! MY MUSCLES WERE GETTING BIGGER AND MORE DEFINED AND I WAS LOVING IT! HOWEVER, I STILL FELT THERE WERE MANY AREAS THAT HAD A LITTLE EXTRA FAT AND I WANTED TO TONE THEM UP!

I BASICALLY FOLLOWED THE EXERCISE PROGRAM TO THE T. I SOMETIMES WOULD TAKE A DAY OFF BUT WOULD JUST PICK UP THE PROGRAM WHERE EVER I LEFT OFF. ON AVERAGE I WAS HITTING THE GYM 5 DAYS A WEEK FOR ABOUT AN HOUR AND A HALF. ALTHOUGH PHASE 1 OF THE PROGRAM SAYS TO NOT DO ANY CARDIO I WAS STILL HITTING THE ELIPTICAL 2-3 TIMES A WEEK FOR 20-30 MINUTES. AS FAR AS THE FOOD PART OF THE PROGRAM I WAS FOLLOWING IT QUITE LOOSELY BUT WAS DEFINITELY EATING MUCH CLEANER AND EATING A TON MORE VEGGIES THAN EVER BEFORE. BY THE END OF PHASE 1 I WAS FEELING AWESOME! DURING PHASE 1 MY WEIGHT PRETTY MUCH STAYED THE SAME BECAUSE I WAS GAINING MUSCLE AND LOSING SOME FAT.

PHASE 2 WAS A LITTLE HARDER FOR ME. MY MUSCLES WERE STILL GETTING BIGGER BUT THE FAT WASN’T GETTING TRIMMED. I WASN’T SEEING AS MUCH RESULTS EVEN THOUGH I HAD AMPED UP THE CARDIO TO 5-6 TIMES A WEEK FOR 20-30 MINUTES. I FELT LIKE MAYBE I HAD HIT MY PLATEAU AND AS GETTING DISCOURAGED BUT I KEPT ON GOING!

I WAS SUPER NERVOUS TO START PHASE 3 BECAUSE IT LOOKED SO HARD! I WAS THINKING TO MY SELF “I DON’T KNOW IF I CAN DO IT!” LET ME TELL YOU, PHASE 3 WAS MY FAVORITE! I WAS REALLY SEEING THE RESULTS! THE FAT WAS TRIMMING OFF AND I FINALLY HAD THE MOTIVATION TO REALLY START FOLLOWING THE FOOD PORTION OF THE PROGRAM MORE CLOSELY.

THATS A QUICK RUN DOWN OF MY UPS AND DOWNS OVER THE LAST 3 MONTHS. I WILL CONTINUE POSTING PICTURES FOR MOTIVATION, RECIPES, TIPS AND WEBSITES THAT HAVE REALLY HELPED ME. IF YOU HAVE ANY QUESTIONS OR THOUGHTS PLEASE FEEL FREE TO CONTACT ME shauger@gmail.com. THANK YOU ALL AGAIN! GO GET IT LADIES! BEAST MODE!!!!

Sam

One thought on “HOW IT ALL STARTED

  1. Love this! So proud of you for not giving up! And, with now following the program and being in phase 1, I already got a little discouraged that I don’t see a big difference in my stomach, but after reading this, I’m pumped for phase 3 and know I’ll see results. You’re a motivatinal person Sam! Love you xoxoxo

Leave a Reply

