TIPS FOR THE MOST EFFECTIVE CARDIO

FOR A LONG TIME MY ROUTINE WHEN I WENT TO THE GYM WAS TO KILL MYSELF ON THE TREADMILL OR ELIPTICAL THEN GO AND DO A HALF ASS WEIGHT LIFTING SESSION. THIS GAVE ME LITTLE PROGRESS TOWARD MY FITNESS GOALS. I DIDN’T UNDERSTAND WHY UNTIL RECENTLY. WHEN YOU WORK OUT YOU MUST DO YOUR CARIO AFTER YOU LIFT! I CANNOT EXPRESS HOW IMPORTANT THIS IS. WHY? BECAUSE WHEN YOU START YOUR WORKOUT WITH LIFTING YOU WILL USE UP MOST, IF NOT ALL, OF THE ENERGY FROM THE CALORIES YOU HAVE EATEN FROM YOUR LAST MEAL THEN WHEN YOU HIT THE TREADMILL, ELIPTICAL, STAIR-STEPPER, BIKE ETC YOU WILL BE USING YOUR STORED ENERGY AKA FAT RESERVES.

ONE OF THE BEST WAYS I’VE FOUND IS TO DO A QUICK 5-10 MINUTE WARM UP AND LOOK OVER THE EXERCISES I WILL BE PERFORMING DURING MY LIFT ON MY iPHONE. THIS GETS ME REVED UP FOR HITTING THE WEIGHTS. THEN ONCE I’VE FINISHED I WILL DO CARDIO FOR AT LEAST 20 MINUTES BUT NOT MORE THAN 45.

I’VE ALSO FOUND IT SUPER EFFECTIVE IN AMPING UP MY METABOLISM WHEN I DO FASTING CARDIO. THIS IS WHERE I WILL WAKE UP IN THE MORNING AND DO 30-45 MINUTES OF CARDIO BEFORE I’VE HAD ANYTHING TO EAT THAT MORNING AND WITHIN AN HOUR OF WAKING UP. A LOT OF TIMES I WILL HAVE A CUP OF COFFEE TO GIVE ME A LITTLE ENERGY BOOST FIRST. I DO THIS ONLY ON DAYS WHEN I CAN HIT THE GYM TWICE AND AM ABLE TO LIFT LATER ON IN THE DAY. DON’T LIFT ON AN EMPTY STOMACH.

YOU MIGHT BE WONDERING HOW INTENSE THE CARDIO SHOULD BE. BASICALLY IF YOU’RE NOT SWEATING IT’S NOT WORTH YOUR TIME. HOWEVER, YOU DON’T HAVE TO KILL YOURSELF WITH SPRINTS OR CRAZY INTENSITY TO GET YOUR SWEAT ON! I FIND I SWEAT THE MOST WHEN MY HEART RATE IS IN THE 130-150 RANGE.

INTERVALS ARE YOUR BEST FRIEND! THE ABSOLUTE BEST WAY TO REALLY GET YOUR SWEAT ON AND BURN FAT IS SPEED INTERVALS. AMP OF THE INTENSITY THEN BRING YOUR HEART RATE BACK DOWN. AS SOON AS YOU BRING YOUR HEART RATE BACK DOWN INTO THE LOWER RANGES THE SWEAT AND FAT STARTS POURING OUT OF YOU. EVEN IF YOU’RE ONLY DOING THE INTENSE WORK FOR 30 SECONDS AND THE MODERATE FOR 2 MINUTES IT WILL STILL HELP TO BURN FAT.

THOSE ARE SOME OF THE QUICK TIPS THAT HAVE REALLY HELPED ME AND GIVEN ME THE BEST RESULTS. HERE IS THE QUICK AND DIRTY SUMMARY.

– DO YOUR CARDIO AFTER YOU LIFT

– FASTING CARDIO FIRST THING IN THE MORNING REVS UP YOUR METABOLISM

– MODERATE INTENSITY CARDIO IS THE FAT BURNER

– SPEED INTERVALS WILL REALLY MAKE YOU SWEAT AND BURN FAT

As a quick side note: I am not a trainer or a physician. Don’t start a workout plan without consulting your physician.Image

Leave a Reply

