MAKING THE CHANGE

HERE I AM OF DAY 5 OF MY MONTH OF TESTING MY SELF-CONTROL AND COMMITMENT AND HAVE ALREADY HIT SOME HURDLES. I KNEW THE HARDEST PART OF MY COMMITMENTS I MADE FOR THIS MONTH WAS ELIMINATING ALCOHOL. I THOROUGHLY ENJOY SOCIAL DRINKING… AND ON A RARE OCCASION NON-SOCIAL DRINKING. I MADE IT A WHOPPING 4 DAYS. ZACH AND I WENT TO HIS FAMILIES FOR TWO DAYS OF CONSECUTIVE BIRTHDAY PARTIES AND LET’S JUST SAY THAT I HAVE A HARD TIME SAYING NO TO JUST ABOUT ANYTHING INCLUDING: MIMOSAS, MIXED DRINKS, MILLER LITE, MOSCATO, RIBS, POTATO SALAD, CHIPS AND SALSA, CHOCOLATE CREAM PIE, CHERRY PIE, CHOCOLATE CAKE, PITA CHIPS, AND SUB-SANDWICHES. PRETTY MUCH DID EVERYTHING I SAID I WASN’T GOING TO DO THIS MONTH. IT IS SO HARD FOR ME TO CONTAIN MY EATING AND DRINKING IN A SOCIAL SETTING. I KNOW I’M NOT ALONE ON THIS TOPIC. IT IS EASY FOR ME TO BE GOOD WITH MY EATING HABITS AND EXERCISE WHEN I AM AT HOME IN MY NORMAL ROUTINE. I THINK THE REAL CHALLENGE FOR ME THIS MONTH IS NOT NECESSARILY WHAT I HAD ORIGINALLY ANTICIPATED. THE TRUE CHALLENGE IS NOT WHETHER I CAN DO IT BECAUSE I KNOW I CAN, ITS WHETHER I CAN MAINTAIN IT IN A SOCIAL SETTING. EVERYTHING IS A LEARNING EXPERIENCE AND I DEFINITELY LEARNED A FEW THINGS ABOUT MYSELF FROM THE LAST TWO DAYS. I’M NOT AT THE LEVEL OF SELF-CONTROL THAT I WOULD LIKE TO HAVE WHEN I AM IN A SOCIAL SETTING. IN THE NEXT TWO WEEKS I WILL BE IN LAS VEGAS FOR MY FLIGHT ATTENDANT RECURRENT TRAINING FOLLOWED BY MY COLLEGE ROOMMATES WEDDING IN IDAHO FOLLOWED BY A VISIT TO MY PARENTS. THESE EXPERIENCES WILL GIVE ME PLENTY OF OPPORTUNITY TO TEST MY SELF CONTROL. MY GOAL IS TO COME BACK HOME FROM LAS VEGAS AND IDAHO FEELING AWESOME ABOUT MYSELF AND MY BODY, FEELING LIKE I MADE REALLY GOOD CHOICES AND THAT MAINTAINED MY SELF-CONTROL. FOR NOW I AM GOING TO TAKE ON THIS UPCOMING WEEK WITH MORE FUEL FOR THE FLAMES! I’M GOING TO TRAIN THAT MUCH HARDER THIS WEEK AND PUSH MYSELF TOWARDS GREATER PROGRESS. 

“FOR CHANGES TO BE OF ANY TRUE VALUE, THEY MUST BE LASTING AND CONSISTENT” – ANTHONY ROBBINS

Image

                                                    

Image

Leave a Reply

