Let Me Supplement Your Supplements

Picture 14

I often am asked what kind of supplements I take to help me reach my current fitness level. I hesitate a little in this area because I don’t think I made my goals just because of a pill or powder. Supplements are great for supplementing but are not the end-all-be-all solution to reaching your fitness goals. Here is my full supplement regimen as well as a few supplements I am hoping to test in the near future.

First off, finding the right supplement supplier is essential. I’m on a budget so I’m as thrifty as possible when purchasing my supplements. If its not on sale or there isn’t a special on it  I don’t buy it period. One of my favorite places to buy is Vitacost.com. They have excellent customer service, always have sales and specials and they usually have the best prices. I also love their own Vitacost branded supplements. They are super inexpensive and are still great quality. Most of the items listed below are on Vitacost.com. Below is my personal link that will get you $10 off a purchase of $30 or more! Fantastic deal!

VITACOST.COM

MORNING

Image

First think in the morning I wake up and make myself a fruit and vegetable powder drink. My favorite brand is Nutek Nature’s Greens and Nature’s Fruits because it is extremely nutrient packed and doesn’t have fillers and fake ingredients. These can usually be found at a health food store. There are many different brands of green/antioxidant powders and most of them are a great supplement. Nutek is my personal favorite. Below is a link to Nutek’s website where you can enter your zip code and find local retailers.

NUTEK NEAR YOU

It is essential to take a good multi-vitamin EVERY DAY! I’ve taken a multi every day for a year or so now and I can totally feel the difference in my energy and vitality. Sometime’s I will forget to take my multi in the morning and by mid-afternoon I will feel lethargic and unfocused. Then I’ll suddenly realize, oh crap I forgot to take my multi! Pop my vitamin and bam, problem solved. 30 minutes later I’m feeling like a million bucks again! There are SO many vitamins out there to choose from here are three of my favorites.

The first is Kirkland brand Premium Performance Multi-Vitamin simply because it is jam packed with vitamins and minerals meeting and exceeding almost all of your daily values AND it is very inexpensive. $15.99 for a bottle of 300 pills! Thats only 5 cents per dose! And Costco runs specials on their Kirkland supplements all the time so you probably will get an even better deal.

Image

KIRKLAND BRAND PREMIUM PERFORMANCE MULTI-VITAMIN

The second vitamin recommendation I have is Nutek Nature’s Fuel vitamin powder. This super charged powder will jump-start your morning! Your body will suck in these nutrients super fast and its energy you can feel! Fantastic product but comes at a price. Usually around $35-$40 for a 30 day supply but well worth the money!

Image

Again, it is a little harder to find this brand so below is a link where you can enter your zip code and find your local retailers that carry Nutek.

FIND NUTEK NEAR YOU

And one more amazing option if you don’t have a Costco membership and don’t want to pay a higher price Vitacost has an excellent self branded multi-vitamin. $19.99 for a bottle of 60 doses makes this little pill only 33 cents a day to more energy and vitality.

Image

Again, click the link below for $10 off your purchase of $30 or more at Vitacost! Then search for Synergy Once Daily and it it to your cart.

VITACOST $10 OFF

Lastly I suggest taking a good fish oil every morning. This will ensure you get all the EFA’s (Essential Fatty Acids) you need on the daily. I like Vitacosts Flax Seed/Fish Oil complex soft gels. At only $6.99 for a bottle of 120 capsules and 2 pills equalling 1 dose you’re looking at 12 cents per day and a two month supply of EFA’s. Sweet!

Image

Again, click the link below for $10 off your purchase of $30 or more at Vitacost! Then search for Vitacost Flaxseed/fish oil complex and it it to your cart.

VITACOST $10 OFF

PRE-WORKOUT

With my work schedule I’m lucky enough to be able to hit the gym before the 5 o clock rush and pretty much have the gym to myself. However if you’re work schedule doesn’t allow for this then just consider this your pre-workout supplement. Warning, this is for anyone ready to get serious about their fitness. This product does contain a large dose of caffeine. Any time you try a new pre-workout supplement for the very  fist time ALWAYS take less than the recommended dose! But ladies don’t be scared this isn’t going to make you look like a body builder. Women just don’t have enough testosterone in their bodies to gain muscle mass like a dude. Don’t worry!

I’ve tried a few different types of pre-workout drinks but my favorite is C4 because it has the best taste (Fruit Punch), is fairly inexpensive and provides a lot of extra energy and stamina during your lift session.

Image

I mix up about 3/4 of a scoop with 8 oz of water 15-25 minutes before my workout, usually just before I head out the door to the gym. By the time I get to LA Fitness my hands are a little tingly and I’m raring to go! I find using pre-workouts helps me to finish more reps and feel stronger while I’m lifting and gives me energy after my lift to do a 20-35 minute cardio session and really get my sweat on. The package says 30 doses but depending on how much extra energy I feel I need I can usually get about 35 doses out of one bottle. At $29 a bottle and 35 doses is approximately 85 cents per workout. Not too bad for an explosive workout! It comes in 4 different flavors: Fruit Punch, Icy Blue Razz, Orange & Pink Lemonade.

Again, click the link below for $10 off your purchase of $30 or more at Vitacost! Then search for C4 complex and it it to your cart.

VITACOST $10 OFF

POST-WORKOUT

My favorite part of the day!! Post-workout shake! There are a TON of choices out there, literally thousands. This can make buying a good protein seem like a daunting task. Here are a few quick rules to look out for.

  1. Must have 20-30 grams of protein per serving
  2. Must have less than 5 grams of carbohydrates per serving
  3. Should have around 100-160 calories per serving and only 10-30 calories from fat
  4. ABSOLUTELY MUST have an amino acid profile. Usually found at the bottom of the nutritional panel. These are the building blocks for muscle repair and recovery. Also called BCAA’s (Branched Chain Amino Acids).

Here are two of my suggestions.

Optimum Nutrition Gold Standard Whey is literally THE Gold Standard of protein powders. It comes in about 16 different flavors from Carmel Toffee Fudge to Chocolate Coconut to White Chocolate. Yeah! My mouth is watering too! A 5lb jar at $52.99 with 71 servings makes for a 74 cent shake. Add a quarter cup of oats and half a frozen banana and water to the shake and blend it up! SOOOOO DELISH!!!

Image

Again, click the link below for $10 off your purchase of $30 or more at Vitacost! Then search for Optimum Nutrition Gold Standard and make it only 60 cents per serving!

VITACOST $10 OFF

If you are trying a dairy free life style as I have a great option is pea protein. It doesn’t taste amazing but it is super easy on the tummy. My favorite is Olympian Labs Pea Protein Chocolate Powder. It has everything you need from a protein powder and I love that the ingredient list has no words I can’t pronounce I.E. its not full of a bunch of fillers and chemicals. At $24 and 23 servings it makes it about $1.07 per shake.

Image

Again, click the link below for $10 off your purchase of $30 or more at Vitacost! Then search for Pea Protein Powder.

VITACOST $10 OFF

NIGHT TIME

If you’re getting serious about your fitness you’ll find you appetite and metabolism are full force. You’ll be getting hungry every 2-3 hours and that is great! You want to be eating at those intervals however you will be waking up starving and while you were asleep your body can sometimes eat up your muscles for fuel. Prevent this from happening by drinking a protein shake just before you catch some Z’s. Casein Protein is a slow digesting protein that is perfect in preventing this nightly demon. It is slightly costlier than regular Whey protein will keep you fuller longer. You can also use it during the day if you need a quick snack or meal.

Image

Again I’m going with Optimum Nutrition Gold Standard Blueberries & Cream! Yeah you heard it right! BLUEBERRIES AND CREAM!! YUM!! The serving dose says one heaping scoop but ladies, you won’t need a heaping scoop. 3/4 of a scoop will be just fine. At that rate you can get about 35 shakes per bottle at $33.99 for 2 lbs equals 97 cents per shake. Use the $10 off a purchase of $30 or more and make it even less!

Again, click the link below for $10 off your purchase of $30 or more at Vitacost! Then search for Optimum Nutrition Casein Powder.

VITACOST $10 OFF

I hope this helps you to make some smarter decisions when buying your supplements! If you have any questions please feel free to email me at shauger10@gmail.com.

Leave a Reply

